Your thoughts and experience of Tax Planning

Hi Dozens Community!!

I, personally, wanted to get your thoughts on the subject of tax planning and how you, as an individual, go about it or if you have any knowledge about different taxes which might be applicable to your income / investment holdings?

I do not write on behalf of Dozens, but as an individual who wants to know at what stage in your life you might have thought of tax planning or if you haven’t, maybe if you might give it a go after reading this message?

Why I want to discuss this:

I work in finance (and recently joined Dozens) and have been closely associated with tax laws around personal income, savings & investments and frankly there is just a lot to think about when it comes to saving every penny.

Even though I know about it, I haven’t given it much thought which makes me wonder about the thought process of others and seeing if there’s a pattern, or maybe an important trigger?!

I really hope we can have constructive discussion about this and look forward to hearing your thoughts.

4 Likes

Excellent questions!

For me, I think the block is on the phrase “tax planning”.

That’s something that the rich and famous do. And is morally dubious, with offshore accounts and exotic ways of minimising tax.

The second reflection I have is that it’s actually v difficult for the amateur. Because of crowdfunding, a few years ago I started to do self assessment. It’s (pun intended) taxing. This year, I know that I should (I think) be able to write off the loss of a small crowdfunding investment (we’re talking £50 tops) and a corporate bond (a little bigger).

But I just don’t know where to start. I keep meaning to message HMRC to ask about the mechanics - but just knowing where to account for this is difficult. Let alone if I can/should.

I suppose I could get an accountant, but that seems a bit of a luxury. And I’m sceptical whether I’d save more than it’d cost.